Every Need that I Perceive

Please see the expanded and improved update posted in February 2014.

https://miracarroll.wordpress.com/2014/02/23/every-need-that-i-perceive-update/

“I have no cause for anger or for fear, for You surround me.

And in every need that I perceive Your grace suffices me.”

A Course in Miracles Workbook Lesson 348

This beautiful and uplifting message from the Course is part of my morning prayers because it works so well to remind me of the peace that is my birthright. The first part, about no cause for anger or for fear, is straightforward:

“Father, let me remember You are here, and I am not alone. Surrounding me is everlasting Love. I have no cause for anything except the perfect peace and joy I share with You. What need have I for anger or for fear? Surrounding me is perfect safety. Can I be afraid, when Your eternal promise goes with me? Surrounding me is perfect sinlessness. What can I fear, when You created me in holiness as perfect as Your own?” (ACIM Lesson 348)

But the second part about need and grace, taken alone without a deeper understanding of the Course, can send us down the path of misunderstanding, especially when we come to spirituality wanting to find validation that the message of “The Secret” (the Law of Attraction: ask, believe, receive) is true in the way we want it to be true. Many of us want to believe that we can manifest ANYTHING in this world that we desire. We are indeed powerful manifestors, and our intention, belief and openness to receive (not blocking the good that comes to us) are crucial parts of conscious co-creation.

But I do not misconstrue the idea of God’s grace fulfilling everything that I perceive as a “need.” “I have no cause for anger or for fear, for You surround me. And in every need that I perceive Your grace suffices me.” is not a promise that God’s Great Giveaway Show will shower all true believers and non-angry, non-fearful behavers with the literal earthly manifestation of all their self-defined desires. What it DOES promise is that when I remember and accept the omnipotence of God and Love I will no longer feel angry and fearful. And from this serene place I will experience the state of “no need,” knowing that my perceived needs are based on the dream of “not God” (or the illusion) and so have no basis in reality. With no “needs” to form an agenda I am perfectly set up to choose to be a vessel for God’s Will and trust that God will provide whatever is needed for me to represent Him today. God’s Will be done, by and through me.

“God’s grace suffices us in everything that He would have us do. And only that we choose to be our will as well as His.” (ACIM Lesson 348)

A stunted life results from getting what we want, but not what we need. This is the archetype of the “poor little rich girl,” which includes being distracted by riches and having things instead of love. But this poor-little-rich-girl energy also operates more subtly in our lives (which may not seem “rich” in material things) when we are presented with an experience that offers the opportunity for growth and healing, yet we refuse to see it or take the necessary steps. The story of the poor little rich girl is the underlying tragedy for 1) those who believe life “happens to” them, 2) those operating under the illusion that they have nothing to heal and 3) those who, secretly or not, believe their happiness is dependent on something they don’t yet have. The third category includes many practitioners of “The Secret.”

Who we really are is not about anything “out there.” When we think it is, we become poor little rich girls, oblivious to the wealth of healing opportunities all around us, pretending we can eat diamonds and that gold will keep us warm.

“‘Lead us not into temptation’ means do not let us deceive ourselves into believing that we can relate in peace to God or to our brothers with anything external.” (ACIM Urtext, T 1 B 40f)

A Course in Miracles offers an “addendum” to the Law of Attraction that invites the abundance of trust, peace and joy instead of relentless striving for attainment:

[The Holy Spirit] seems to be whatever meets the needs you think you have. But He is not deceived when you perceive your self entrapped in needs you do not have. It is from these He would deliver you. (ACIM, Clarification of Terms, “The Holy Spirit”)

THIS is the grace of God that suffices us: that we WILL get what we need, even if it is not what we want. Life will continue to serve up experiences that offer us the potential to get what we need, if we will “get it.”  We are indeed powerful manifestors, made in the image of The Creator. We should pursue the desires of our hearts, which guide us, from a place of non-attachment. And we WILL manifest according to the needs of our Soul’s purpose, but not necessarily the things and conditions we think we need. Peace arises from understanding and trusting that what we have at any given moment IS exactly what we need.

Love and Light,

Miradrienne Carroll

www.alohaservices.org

www.healingloss.biz

Healing Loss outlines spiritual principles and practices

for anyone who wants to heal, at any time,

from the context of healing grief and loss.

Copyright © 2012 All Rights Reserved

Comments
2 Responses to “Every Need that I Perceive”
  1. Beautiful, Mira — full of Truth and Light. Please keep your inspiring, uplifting
    messages coming. They are heard and appreciated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

