Everyday Mastery: Master Every Day

Mastery need not be as esoteric as the word itself conjures, but mastery IS grand. To use the word “mastery” in relation to our lives is not egotistical. Rather, mastery is a way of maintaining balance and spiritual center as we walk through this illusion we call life. It is about keeping contact with our spiritual resolve and practicing our spiritual beliefs in all realms—physical, emotional, mental AND spiritual. Sometimes mastery looks like facility and prowess in the ways of the world, but it’s more about confidence, persistence and broad-thinking application than stellar skills. Although perfection may manifest, mastery is NOT about perfection. It’s about choosing the right “job” and getting the job done efficiently without kicking God out of the picture. The daily practice of mastery is part of living a life of peace. Living mastery increases our experience of peace, love, joy, safety and abundance on earth. A Course in Miracles teaches the way of mastery.

“Oh yeah, I did the Course in Miracles a few years ago.”

Whenever someone says that particular phrase to me—”I ‘did’ the Course”—I sense that they once waded through the Text and/or did the Workbook lessons, maybe took a class, but are currently missing out on using the Course in their daily lives. We don’t have to be on a reading schedule or doing Workbook Lessons daily in sequence to keep the Course active in our lives. We need do nothing. At the end of the Workbook we are simply asked to entrust everything to God and to practice continuing permutations and combinations of the final lesson (361-365) at all times:

 “This holy instant would I give to You. Be You in charge.

For I would follow You, certain that Your direction gives me peace.”

This is an ancient directive, expressed by many in many ways. Here’s one more:

“Your foolish little activities are valueless in themselves. Seemingly trivial or of seemingly great moment, all deeds are alike if directed by Me. Just cease to function except through Me. . . . I am dependent on no one agency when I am your supply. Through many channels My help and material flow can come.” (God Calling, March 20, Help from Everywhere)

Most of us need help to stay on the path of mastery. To aid myself in this focus, I start the day with the philosophy of love and forgiveness from the Course. But some of my time is reserved for silent meditation, and there are other sacred books and teachings also vying for my attention. And I always have a slate of illusory tasks calling to me. So I have developed this short “Course Overview” built from actual quotes to use as a prayer or lead-in to meditation:

I give my life to God to guide today.

 

I rule my mind, which I alone must rule.

 

Let every voice but God’s be still in me.

 

[Unconditional love] is the vision I will use today.

 

The Holy Spirit looks and speaks through me today.

 

I will to see my brother [and myself] through the eyes of truth and not of judgment.

 

I choose to see my brother’s [innocence]. In him I find my Self.

Forgiveness lets me know that minds are joined.

 

I have no cause for anger or for fear, for You surround me.

And in every need that I perceive, Your grace suffices me.

 

Peace fills my heart, and floods my body with the purpose of forgiveness.

 

Today the peace of God envelops me, and I forget all things except His Love.

 

I need do nothing.

~ ~ ~

 

  • I give my life to God to guide today. (A Course in Miracles Workbook Lesson 233)
  • I open to the manifestation of God’s Will in my life, and invite the ego to vacate the driver’s seat.
  • I rule my mind, which I alone must rule. (Lesson 236)
  • No one can choose how I use my mind but me. I affirm that I, God’s Child, AM the chooser. I have free will to choose how to perceive everything. I choose not to allow the ego’s delusion of separation to rule my thinking. I choose the reality of love NOW because love reflects my true identity, my God-given nature.
  • Let every voice but God’s be still in me. (Lesson 254)
  • I tell the ego, which does not care for the back seat, to nonetheless be quiet.
  • Christ’s [Unconditional love] is the vision I will use today. (Lesson 271)
  • I affirm my choice for love and forgiveness, to perceive through the lens of unconditional love.
  • The Holy Spirit looks and speaks through me today. (Lessons 295 & 296)
  • I accept the gift of the Holy Spirit’s interpretation and my responsibility as Its conduit. Today I am given the opportunity to be a sacred vessel of love and forgiveness.
  • I will to see my brother [and myself] through the eyes of truth and not of judgment. (Lessons 158, 159, 161, 162, 164, “Christ’s Vision”)
  • I give myself a specific plan to follow: unconditional love and forgiveness.
  • I choose to see my brother’s sinlessness [innocence]. In him I find my Self. Forgiveness lets me know that minds are joined. (Lessons 335 & 336)
  • I choose love now because giving and receiving are one. Only through unconditional love and forgiveness will I re-member and re-collect Oneness and my true identity.
  • I have no cause for anger or for fear, for You surround me. And in every need that I perceive, Your grace suffices me. (Lesson 348)
  • It is safe to welcome this day in trust and defenselessness. My needs are answered before I even decide what I think would fulfill them. It is safe to have desires and also to let them go because my needs are taken care of in view of the big picture. The Holy Spirit sees and operates within the context of the greatest good for all.
  • Peace fills my heart, and floods my body with the purpose of forgiveness. (Lesson 267)
  • I open my heart and feel the truth of peace and love pulsing within every cell of my being. I am willing to forgive anything without exception and without reserve.
  • Today the peace of God envelops me, and I forget all things except His Love. (Lesson 346)
  • I accept the haven (heaven) of the immutable cradle of the Love of God from which to lead my life. I pause here NOW, and know this state of mind awaits whenever I need sanctuary.
  • I need do nothing. (Text, Chapter 18,VII.5:7)
  • I remind my ego nature to be quiet during my period of silent meditation.

As I open my heart this way, my worldly self begins to disappear. Having passed time in the silence, I am ready to greet the day and practice everyday mastery.

In the Name of Love I take my place within the infinite circle that is You,

All That Is, calling to my Brother to join us in peace.

Love and Light,

Mira Carroll

www.alohaservices.org

www.healingloss.biz Purchase hard copy

www.smashwords.com/books/view/108990 Sample or purchase Healing Loss eBook

Healing Loss outlines spiritual principles and practices

for anyone who wants to heal, at any time,

from the context of healing grief and loss.

Copyright © 2012 All Rights Reserved

Michael Mirdad is among the great teachers of mastery, and I am grateful that he introduced me to the concept. More about Michael Mirdad at: www.grailproductions.com

 

Leave a Reply

