A Healer’s Manifesto

A Healer’s Manifesto: the garbage collector bearing gift certificates

Caduceus PurpleWe’re all teachers.  We teach through our thoughts, words and actions.  When our thoughts, words and actions teach love, we are healers.

As is often the case, when we open to healing the results may not be what we expect.  Human beings are not in charge of healing.  Ultimate Loving Intelligence is in charge of healing.  Our job as seeming individuals is to show up in willingness, exercise discernment and make choices.

Some while ago I opened myself to a healing session with a specific goal in mind—to check and repair or strengthen my auric field.  This goal made sense in light of a project I was working on.  At the time I felt vulnerable and drained.  I did not get the session I thought I wanted.  Instead I got a much-needed message to take sublingual vitamin B12 supplement (I am a long-time vegetarian in my less extreme youth) and the gift that follows, my “Healer’s Manifesto.”

After I did not get the session I envisioned I felt angry and disappointed.  I took my own advice and did my forgiveness and healing work around the situation, which led me to a very valuable place (as it always does).  I let the so-called “negative” experience teach me.  This session I initially found unsatisfying made me lay out what I understand A Course in Miracles teaches about “being a healer” and take a good look at myself in the role of healer.  It gave me the gift of more clarity.  It gave me this guide and standard to which I aspire.

Love heals.  My purpose is awakening; my function is healing.  I pray to fulfill my function and I pray this helps you fulfill yours. 

Ideals for a Healer

My holy brothers, I would enter into all your relationships

and step between you and your fantasies.

Let my relationship to you be real to you,

and let me bring reality to your perception of your brothers.

They were not created to enable you to hurt yourselves through them.

They were created to create with you.

This is the truth that I would interpose between you

and your goal of madness [the idea that we’re “on our own”].

Be not separate from me. . .

(A Course in Miracles Text Chapter 17, “Forgiveness and Healing,” IV. Shadows of the Past)

Like you, your brother thinks he is a dream.

Share not in his illusion of himself, for your identity depends on his reality.

Think rather of him as a mind in which illusions still persist,

but as a mind which brother is to you.

He is not brother made by what he dreams,

nor is his body, “hero” of the dream, your brother.

It is his reality that is your brother, as is yours to him.

Your mind and his are joined in brotherhood.

His body and his dreams but seem to make a little gap,

where yours have joined with his.

(ACIM Text Chapter 28, “The Undoing of Fear,” V. The Greater Joining)

Call forth in everyone only the remembrance of God

and of the Heaven that is in him.

For where you would help your brother be, there will you think you are.

Hear not his call for hell and littleness,

but only his call for Heaven and greatness.

Forget not that his call is yours, and answer him with me.

 (ACIM Text Chapter 15, “The Purpose of Time,” IV. Littleness Versus Magnitude)

Graphic Healers

The therapist does not heal; he lets healing be….

The Holy Spirit is the only therapist….

He makes healing perfectly clear in any situation in which he is the Guide….

and will speak … through you if you do not interfere.

Remember that you are choosing a guide for helping,

and the wrong choice will not help.

But remember also that the right one will.

Trust Him, for help is His function, and He is of God.

(ACIM Text Chapter 9, 20-30)

Healer’s Manifesto

Healer Principle #1:  I am not in charge of healing.

I am not in charge of healing.  I am responsible for offering myself for the holy purpose of healing.  Let me allow Jesus/Sananda/the Holy Spirit/Servants of the Light to step between me and my fantasy of “being a healer.”  I am a vessel, a facilitator, a witness, an example, an enabler, an instrument of peace, a resource, a means offered up for Divine Ends.  I carry out the orders of my superiors.  I am whatever is needed.

Healing is holy.

Nothing in the world is holier than helping one who asks for help.

And two come very close to God in this attempt,

however limited, however lacking in sincerity.

Where two have joined for healing, God is there.

And He has guaranteed that He will hear and answer them in truth.

They can be sure that healing is a process He directs,

because it is according to His Will.

We have His Word to guide us, as we try to help our brothers.

Let us not forget that we are helpless of ourselves,

and lean upon a strength beyond our little scope

for what to teach as well as what to learn.

(ACIM Urtext Volume V: Psychotherapy: Purpose, Process & Practice,
3. The Process of Psychotherapy, F. The Process of Healing, P 3 F 4)

How to accomplish Healer Principle #1:

  • Healer, heal thyself.  The personal healing journey of the healer is not complete until ascension.  As a healer I need to be vigilant for my own fear, in all its forms.  FEAR (as you’ve undoubtedly heard) is just the Fiction of the Ego Appearing Real.  My fear blocks my ability to be present in unconditional love in the healing context.  My job is to let it go in favor of the truth, not feed it.  Healing is about bringing the illusion of fear to the truth that there is nothing to fear.

What form does fear take for healers?  Often fear masquerades as “doubt.”  I am aware of two recurrent fears that creep out from the dark corners of my mind.

First, that I am not “enough”—I’m not the healer I pretend to be.  Uh, note to self, see Healer Principle #1 above.  I am not the healing force—I am a conduit.  This allows me to also be “just a person.”  I can do healing work because “I” don’t do healing.

For a teacher of God to remain concerned about the result of healing

is to limit the healing.

It is now the teacher of God himself whose mind needs to be healed.

And it is this he must facilitate.

He is now the patient, and he must so regard himself.

(ACIM Manual for Teachers, 8. “Should Healing Be Repeated?”)

The second is a fear that male clients will interpret my healing love—my aloha—as sexual or have underlying sexual motivation for the session.  Unfortunately this is not uncommon among male massage therapy clients.  I remind myself that in my defenselessness my safety lies—that only embodying my true nature as a child of God will connect me with the safety I seek.  No matter what happens, I am never truly hurt.  Thus it is safe, after taking appropriate measures in the world, to say “que será será”—whatever will be, will be.  My Father’s peace is with me.  I am safe.

If you are offering only healing, you cannot doubt.

If you really want the problem solved, you cannot doubt.

If you are certain what the problem is, you cannot doubt.

Doubt is the result of conflicting wishes.

Be sure of what you want, and doubt becomes impossible.

(ACIM Manual for Teachers, 8. “Should Healing Be Repeated?”)

What forms does your fear take?

  • Invite assistance.  Ask frequently, Father, show me what to say or do in this case, with this person, NOW.  What can I offer that is helpful?  Help me to do what you would have me do, and NOT do what you would not have me do.  Pray, “Thy Will be done, by and through me.”
  • Healing IS about change.  Part of being a healer is being a midwife to death—figurative and sometimes literal.  Healing is transformation: out with the old, in with the new.  We discard what isn’t working to make room for the good we invite in its place.  As healer I am essentially the garbage collector—bearing gift certificates.
  • Love, Love, Love!  Meet clients where they are.  If it was good enough for Jesus, it’s good enough for me.  Do not pressure clients to conform to my beliefs.  Respect them.  Offer alternatives as appropriate.  (Ask for help.)

Whenever a teacher of God has tried to be a channel for healing he has succeeded. . . .

Having offered love, only love can be received.

 It is in this that the teacher of God must trust. . . . The teacher of God is a miracle worker because he gives the gifts he has received. Yet he must first accept them. He need do no more, nor is there more that he could do. By accepting healing he can give it. . . .

 One of the more difficult temptations to recognize is that to doubt a healing because of the appearance of continuing symptoms is a mistake in the form of lack of trust. As such, it is an attack. Usually it seems to be just the opposite. . . . It has all the appearance of love. Yet love without trust is impossible, and doubt and trust cannot coexist. And hate must be the opposite of love, regardless of the form it takes. Doubt not the gift, and it is impossible to doubt its result.

(ACIM Manual for Teachers, 8. “Should Healing Be Repeated?”)

  • Shades of Light.  I don’t know what this is for.  I don’t know what healing is “supposed” to look like, exactly how it “should” unfold.  So don’t adopt a black-and-white, “all or nothing” attitude.  Offer shades of light.  And remember, an offering is an offering, not a force-feeding.  Allow “tastes” as well as “meals.”  Even though I know wholesale acceptance is ultimately necessary, do not deny a “taste” when my client is hungry but not yet ready to sit down for the meal.
  • I am a healer, not a hammer.  Healing is persuasion.  Heed client cues and be willing to back off when my approach is met with too much discomfort and/or resistance.  If my client is momentarily stuck, then perhaps another day, another time, another way.  If the pattern of being stuck and unwilling persists, perhaps I withdraw as their guide in healing.  There are other garbage collectors, and they bear gift certificates too.
  • Gentle is might.  Be gentle and loving in my approach.  Remember my client is vulnerable by virtue of consulting me, even despite appearances.  Do my best to help the client feel supported, not attacked and criticized.  My client is part of me.  Being a healer is like parenting—I must be nurturing and flexible while clearly delineating issues of right/wrong, acceptable/unacceptable, safe/unsafe, healthy/unhealthy and implementing carefully-chosen correction.

Let us remember that the ones who come to us for help are bitterly afraid.

What they believe will help can only harm;

what they believe will harm alone can help.

Progress becomes impossible until the patient is persuaded

to reverse his twisted way of looking at the world;

his twisted way of looking at himself.

The truth is simple.

Yet it must be taught to those who think it will endanger them.

It must be taught to those who will attack because they feel endangered,

and to those who need the lesson of defenselessness above all else,

to show them what is strength.

(ACIM Urtext Volume V: Psychotherapy: Purpose, Process & Practice,
3. The Process of Psychotherapy, F. The Process of Healing, P 3 F 2)

  • Zip it AND Nip it!  Interrupt sparingly, sometimes VERY sparingly.  But do not support my client’s (unconscious) stalling methods, avoidance, control tactics, inappropriate ways to get energy and other unhealthy behavior patterns by allowing or ignoring them.  These must be nipped in the bud.  I am a loving healer, not a friend, not family.  Negative patterns of thought and behavior need to be intercepted and rerouted as part of the change of healing.
  • Be in the world, but not of it.  Offer workable solutions and encourage baby steps.  Recommending a vegan diet to a smoking, drinking moose hunter is probably not going to help.  Suggesting a trial period of sobriety might.
  • Share the dream.  Create a picture of how life could be with the changes I recommend.  Ask, “How would your life be different if __________?”

Increasing motivation for change in the learner

is all that a teacher need do to guarantee change.

This is because a change in motivation is a change of mind,

and this will inevitably produce fundamental change

because the mind is fundamental.

The first step in the reversal or undoing process, then,

is the undoing of the getting concept.

Accordingly, the Holy Spirit’s first lesson was “to have, give all to all.”

(ACIM Text, Chapter 6)

  • Gather impressions, but stay open.  Be willing to expand my assessment or change my mind.  This is not a test of “how much you know” or your prediction abilities.  It is a holy journey undertaken by two souls, the “healee” and “healer,” together.  Among the garbage collector’s gift certificates are also gift certificates for myself and my Father.

A brother seeking aid can bring us gifts

beyond the heights perceived in any dream.

He offers us salvation, for he comes to us as Christ and Savior.

What he asks is asked by God through him.

And what we do for him becomes the gift we give to God.

(ACIM Volume V: Urtext Psychotherapy: Purpose, Process and Practice,
3. The Process of Psychotherapy, F. The Process of Healing, P 3 F 5)

  • Trust.  Trust this sacred process.  Remember I am not in charge of healing.

[When] two have joined. . . now God’s promises are kept by Him.

The limits laid on both the patient and the therapist will count as nothing,

for the healing has begun.

What man must start his Father will complete.

For He has never asked for more than just the smallest willingness,

the least advance, the tiniest of whispers of His Name.

To ask for help, whatever form it takes, is but to call on Him.

And He will send His Answer through the therapist

who best can serve His Son in all his present needs.

Perhaps the answer does not seem to be a gift from Heaven.

It may even seem to be a worsening and not a help.

Yet let the outcome not be judged by us.

(ACIM Volume V: Urtext Psychotherapy: Purpose, Process and Practice,
3. The Process of Psychotherapy, F. The Process of Healing, P 3 F 6)

On a practical note:

  • Make like Hansel and Gretel (and leave a trail of bread crumbs.)  Don’t chase clients.  Instead, create a way for them to find me.  The Holy Spirit will bring the right people to me.
  • Paper Chase.  Don’t ask your clients to sit down and write a book upon arrival.  If you need forms filled out, it’s best to email them to your client in advance or make them available online.

With Peace and Love,

Mira Carroll

Healing Loss Thumbnail Small for Emailwww.alohaservices.org

www.healingloss.biz Purchase paperback

www.smashwords.com/books/view/108990 Sample or purchase Healing Loss eBook

Healing Loss Review

Healing Loss: Choose Love Now by Miradrienne Carroll
outlines spiritual principles and practices
for anyone who wants to heal, at any time,
from the context of healing grief and loss.

Copyright © 2013 All Rights Reserved

Comments
2 Responses to “A Healer’s Manifesto”
  1. Sandy Gossett says:

    Thank you for sharing these insightful words wisdom! Very helpful in my every day life with my family and friends! Especially learning to zip it and snip it and ask for Thy will be done!

    Grace, peace and love!

    Sandy

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. miracarroll says:

    Thank you, Sandy! I’m glad this information is helpful to you and I am certain that aligning with the Will of Love will never lead you astray. Interesting how when we “zip it” and ask, we HEAR better. 🙂 Peace and Love

    Like

Leave a Reply

