Every Need that I Perceive – Update

Because we are powerful co-creators and manifestors, it’s a good idea to bring consciousness to our desires.  Let us be clear on what we want for our lives and what we need to bring our visions to fruition.  But let us be equally clear that with our lives we are creating squares for the larger quilt of God’s Will made manifest on the earth plane.  None of us knows what the quilt looks like in its entirety or exactly how it fits together.  But through inspiration we are given instructions for our squares, AND the means to produce them.  When we are ready.  The more aligned we are with God’s Will of Love and Light and the more we are open to receive for the purpose of fulfilling His Will, the more ready we are and the more production material we will be given.  But remember that “more” is defined by the greater purposes of God, not by ourselves or this world.  More dedication to God’s Will does not necessarily mean more money, fame and success.

I have no cause for anger or for fear, for You surround me.

And in every need that I perceive Your grace suffices me.

(A Course in Miracles Workbook Lesson 348)

This uplifting message from the Course (ACIM) is part of my morning prayers because it reminds me that peace is my normal state and my needs are taken care of.  The first part, “I have no cause for anger or for fear,” is straightforward.  God, and all that God is, is always with me.

Father, let me remember You are here, and I am not alone.

Surrounding me is everlasting Love.

I have no cause for anything except

the perfect peace and joy I share with You.

What need have I for anger or for fear?

Surrounding me is perfect safety.

Can I be afraid, when Your eternal promise goes with me?

Surrounding me is perfect sinlessness [innocence].

What can I fear, when You created me in holiness as perfect as Your own?

(ACIM Workbook Lesson 348)

But the second part about need and grace, “In every need that I perceive Your grace suffices me,” without a deeper contextual understanding, can send us down the rocky, twisted path of misinformation.  A promise that “the grace of God” will send us whatever we want is not being made.  When we come to spirituality wanting to find validation that the message of the Law of Attraction as it was presented in “The Secret” is true in the material way we often want it to be true, we are at risk of missing the point.  “Ask, believe, and receive” are key concepts for conscious manifestation.  We will need to get clear on what we want, ask for it and believe it is possible before we are likely to receive.  But this is not the whole story.

A part of us wants to believe that we can manifest ANYTHING that we desire in this world—money, material things, specific partners, businesses, jobs, travel, all kinds of experiences, etc.  We are indeed inherently powerful manifestors, and our intention, belief and openness to receive (not blocking the good that comes to us, consciously or unconsciously) are crucial parts of conscious co-creation.  And we do co-create in the field of infinite possibility, which means that ANYTHING is possible.

But that does not mean that God’s grace will fulfill everything that I perceive as a “need” with my perceived “answer” to that need.  The statement “And in every need that I perceive Your grace suffices me,” is not a promise that God’s grace is a Great Giveaway to shower non-angry, non-fearful behavers and believers with the earthly manifestations of their self-defined desires.

We will not let the beliefs of the world tell us

that what God would have us do is impossible.

Instead, we will try to recognize that

only what God would have us do is possible.

(ACIM Workbook Lesson 45)

What IS promised (and this is The Secret) is that when I accept and remember the omnipotence of God and Love, I will no longer feel angry and fearful.  And from this serene place I will experience the state of “no need.”  I will let go of my attachment to “my needs.”  Through my experience I will begin to know that my perceived needs are based on the dream of “not God” (the illusion of separation from God) and so have no basis in Reality.  I will begin to know that my perceived needs address a “me” that is not really who I am.  I am spirit, and spirit has no worldly needs.  With no “needs” to form my agenda, I am perfectly set up to choose to be a vessel and instrument for God’s Will.  As a vessel/instrument/SERVANT I can trust that God will provide whatever is needed for me to represent Him in my unique way, including material needs.  Or the path will be opened before me to obtain or attain what is needed.  When I offer myself to God’s Will, it is done—by, through and for me.

I need but call and You will answer me.

(ACIM Workbook Lesson 327)

God’s grace suffices us in everything that He would have us do.

And only that we choose to be our will as well as His.

(ACIM Workbook Lesson 348)

In truth, as God created me, I need nothing.  On planet Earth—which is a literal manifestation of the belief that it is possible to be separate from God—we seem to need everything.  BUT, we are co-creators and we have been promised not to be left comfortless, so there is very good news on the subject of need.  When I perceive myself as having a need, I can rest assured that God is already on it, weaving a custom-crafted solution that maximizes the potential for my soul at the level of awakening it occupies right now.  God’s grace suffices me.

THE HOLY TRINITY OF NEED

In life on Earth, if I believe I need something I don’t have, there are three possibilities:

  1. It’s available, but I don’t yet know how to access it or haven’t yet claimed it.
  2. It’s on the way.  I just can’t see it yet.
  3. I don’t need it, and I’m ready to learn that I don’t need it.

1.  AVAILABLE, BUT NOT ACCESSED OR CLAIMED

Most of our practical learning in life is around how to access or claim something we feel we need.  For example, we may go to school to access and claim skills, knowledge, a badge of intelligence, professional status and/or a higher salary.  Accessing and claiming often involves elbow grease.  There is so much information available about this I will not explore it further here.

2.  ON THE WAY, BUT NOT APPARENT

This is where the good advice to “not quit before the miracle happens” comes in.  There is a Divine Timing that may not coincide with our own sense of timing and urgency.  We probably do not comprehend the scope of our need, nor all the pieces that must be in place to fulfill it.  So we should keep on faithfully with our accessing and claiming work.  Unless we are getting clear messages to give up this particular “need.”  By clear messages I do not mean a few obstacles.  Obstacles are a part of the earth plane and we need to be able to persevere through them.  Clear messages to let go of a need are stronger and they will keep coming back.

3.  NOT NEEDED

This is usually the least favorite answer to our perceived need, but in fact it’s the BEST news for our soul growth.  When we perceive a need that simply will not respond to our efforts—our work, our preparation, our prayers, our visualization, our healing, our clearing, our heartfelt inspiration and clearest understanding—we are ready to learn that we can let go of that need.  We may not feel ready, but we are.  And that puts us one giant step closer to remembering we are One with God.  Each need truly released clears space for deeper communion with God.

This does not mean that I can’t manifest the job, relationship, business, health, car, bedroom set or whatever of my wildest dreams.  It just means that I might not, because it might not be in the highest interests of my soul’s mission.

WANTS VS. NEEDS

A stunted life comes from getting what we want, but not what we need.  We will never grow strong eating only candy.  This is the archetype of the “poor little rich girl,” which includes being distracted by riches and having material things instead of love.  This poor-little-rich-girl energy also operates more subtly in our lives (which may not seem “rich” in material things) when we are presented with an experience that offers the opportunity for riches (growth and healing), yet we refuse to see it or take the necessary steps to claim it.  Instead we choose poverty.  The story of the poor little rich girl is the underlying tragedy for us when we:

  1. believe life “happens to” us,
  2. operate under the illusion that we have nothing to heal, and/or,
  3. believe our happiness is dependent on something we don’t yet have.  This category includes some practitioners of the Law of Attraction.

Who we really are is not about anything “out there.”  When we think it is, we become poor little rich girls, oblivious to the wealth of healing opportunities presented to us, blind to the love that we are, pretending we can eat diamonds and that gold will keep us warm.

‘Lead us not into temptation’ means

do not let us deceive ourselves into believing that

we can relate in peace to God or to our brothers with anything external.

(ACIM Urtext, T 1 B 40f)

A Course in Miracles offers an “addendum” to the Law of Attraction that leads us to the abundance of peace, love, joy and trust instead of a relentless neediness expressed in striving for attainment:

[The Holy Spirit] seems to be whatever meets the needs you think you have.

But He is not deceived when you perceive your self entrapped in needs you do not have.

It is from these He would deliver you.

(ACIM, Clarification of Terms, “The Holy Spirit“)

This is the grace of God that suffices us.  We WILL get what we need, even if it is sometimes not what we want.  Life will continue to serve up experiences that offer us the potential to get the peace, love, joy and trust consciousness we need, and it will be smoother and more pleasant if we will “get” that.

I am as God created me.

I will remain forever as I was, created by the Changeless like Himself.

And I am one with Him, and He with me.

(ACIM Workbook Lesson 112)

We are indeed powerful manifestors, made in the image of The Creator.  We wisely pursue the desires of our hearts—which guide us—from a place of non-attachment to the outcome.  And we WILL manifest according to the needs of our soul’s purpose, but not necessarily the material things and conditions we think we need.  Peace will arise from understanding and trusting that what we have at any given moment is exactly what we need.

In Love and Light,

Mira Carroll

www.alohaservices.orgHealing Loss Thumbnail Small for Email

www.healingloss.biz Purchase paperback

www.smashwords.com/books/view/108990 Sample or purchase Healing Loss eBook

Healing Loss Review

Healing Loss: Choose Love Now by Miradrienne Carroll

outlines spiritual principles and practices

for anyone who wants to heal, at any time,

from the context of healing grief and loss.

Copyright © 2014 All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

