Independence Day Update

Since the Course came through the Americans Helen Schucman and Bill Thetford, I wondered if Jesus included a special lesson for us on Independence Day.  He did:

Graphic Peace of God

I want the peace of God.

To say these words is nothing.

But to mean these words is everything.

If you could but mean them for just an instant,

there would be no further sorrow possible for you in any form,

or any place or time.

Heaven would be completely given back to full awareness;

memory of God entirely restored,

the resurrection of all creation fully recognized.

(A Course in Miracles Workbook Lesson 185)

This lesson speaks to the amazing power of focusing our hearts and minds in alignment with God’s Will.  If we really wanted the peace of God, and only the peace of God, we would have it because it is already ours.  We were created empowered with the peace of God.  Peace is our independence from the seeming shackles of worldly existence.

The peace of God is yours.

For you it was created, given you by its Creator,

and established as His Own eternal gift.

How can you fail when you but ask for what He wills for you?

 (ACIM Workbook Lesson 185)

Instead we focus on the seeming power of the things and events of the world.  We may think we ask sincerely for the peace of God, but in practice are saying, “I want the peace of God AND I want ________.”  That “and” prevents us from experiencing the peace of God already dwelling within us.  Or we may forget the peace of God entirely, just seeking other things we want.

We are told to identify “the dreams you cherish still.”  Jesus asks, “What do you ask for in your heart?”  Looking at what we are asking for allows us to fashion a tool to REFRAME any desire we become attached to moment by moment.  We simply ask,

“Do I want _________ or do I choose Heaven and the peace of God?”

Filling in the blank, one of my reviews looked like this:

  • a particular person’s love and respect
  • the love and respect of others in general
  • breakfast now (!)
  • money to maintain and improve my lifestyle and attractiveness
  • health to maintain and improve my lifestyle and attractiveness
  • to reach my destination on my personal timetable, feeling “unimpeded”
  • this appointment to start on time
  • a cheese pizza
  • to be entertained
  • sweetness
  • to be shown right by receiving an apology

Note that we are welcome to our desires, just not the attachment to them.  Attachment places us at odds with what is, so attachment cannot coexist with peace.  If my peace is shattered when my desire is not fulfilled, I did not have peace.  I had addiction.

I want the peace of God. . . .

No one can mean these words and not be healed. . . .

To mean you want the peace of God is to renounce all dreams. . . .

To mean these words acknowledges illusions are in vain,

 requesting the eternal in the place of shifting dreams

which seem to change in what they offer, but are one in nothingness.

(ACIM Workbook Lesson 185)

I see that I am called in each moment to let go of what I think I want in order to receive what I truly want, the peace of God.  I see that this is a choice I must make again and again, until I have let go of my attachment to anything else ENTIRELY.  Each time I let go I achieve independence from the illusion—freedom from the story of the hero of the dream and all its needs.  The day I learn to do this perfectly is my Independence Day, and when you join me it is ours.

I want the peace of God. . . .

The world would be completely changed

should any two agree these words express the only thing they want. . . .

Minds cannot unite in dreams.  They merely bargain.

And what bargain can give them the peace of God?

(ACIM Workbook Lesson 185)

Who wants to REALLY want the peace of God?

With Peace and Love,

Mira Carroll

www.alohaservices.orgHealing Loss Thumbnail Small for Email

www.healingloss.biz Purchase hard copy

www.smashwords.com/books/view/108990 Sample or purchase Healing Loss eBook

Healing Loss Review

 

Healing Loss: Choose Love Now

by Miradrienne Carroll

outlines spiritual principles and practices

for anyone who wants to heal, at any time,

from the context of healing grief and loss.

 

Copyright © 2009, 2012 and 2013

All Rights Reserved

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Subscribe to New Posts